Aal-e-Muhammad (a.s.)

stories from the life of the immaculate and noble progeny of Holy Prophet (s.a.w.a.), and their lovers

Imam Husain (a.s.) loves those who are kind

Hasan Basri says: One day, Imam Husayn (a.s) approached his orchard finding his slave sitting and eating some bread. He sat under a palm-tree closely watching him. The slave threw a piece of bread for a dog nearby against every piece of bread which he ate. At the end, he thanked Allah saying, “O Allah, bless me and my master as You blessed his parents. You are the best of the Merciful.”

At this time, Imam Husayn rose up and called him by name. The slave who had been frightened rose up and said, “My master! O master of all believers! I did not notice you. Forgive me.” The Imam said, “You should forgive me, for I entered the orchard without permission!” the slave said, “Are you saying this because of your excellence, magnanimity and generosity?”

The Imam said, “I saw you feeding the dog while you were eating yourself. Why?” The slave said, “My master, while I was eating, the dog was looking at me and I was ashamed of its look. Besides, it is the dog which guards your orchard and I am your slave. We both live on what you give us.” Imam Husayn started crying and said, “You are free in the way of Allah and I give away one thousand Dinars to you!” The slave said, “Even if you set me free, I would like to work in your orchard.” The Imam said, “One must practice what one preaches. I entered the orchard without your permission and I am now giving it away to you with whatever in it.” The slave said, “If you have given away this orchard to me, I too will give it to your followers.”

Maqtal al-Husayn: 153/1.

Reference: http://www.maaref-foundation.com/english/library/pro_ahl/general/ahl_al-bayt/53.htm

Leave a comment

Information

This entry was posted on June 23, 2012 by and tagged , , , , , .